logo link
ESC blog
Entomological Society of Canada - News Feed
Version fran├žaise
Entomological Society of Canada - Bert and John Carr Award

Bert and John Carr Award Winners

2011      Zoe Lindo
2013      Leonid Borysenko
2016      Anna Solecki

The Carr Award is named in honour of Bert and John Carr, who left a legacy of entomological knowledge resulting from the collection and taxonomy of several hundred thousand North American beetle specimens. This work began as a hobby but grew into a vocation after John retired from the oil patch. The Carrs were sought after by professional, amateur and student entomologists for their insights and knowledge in the field. When the Carrs were no longer able to do the field or office work required to further the collection, it was donated to the Canadian National Collections of Insects, Arachnids, and Nematodes in Ottawa. John and Bert were awarded the Norman Criddle Award in 1990 by the Entomological Society of Canada and the Frederick S. Carr Award in 2002 by the Entomological Society of Alberta for their contributions to the entomological community. This award has been made possible by the Carrs’ desire to see an interest in science and nature carried through to the next generation. (see ESC Bulletin, June 2010, p. 102, for details).


The Society seeks applicants for this cash award, which is in support of research activities by individuals who study insect faunistics, or the natural history and taxonomy of Canada’s insect fauna. Preference will be given to applications by amateurs, but applications by students and others will be considered. Applications should consist of:

  1. the name and address of the applicant;
  2. a statement of the research activity to be undertaken, including a cost estimate of up to $500; and
  3. a current curriculum vitae.

Applications are to be sent either by e-mail to the Chair of the Achievement Awards Committee, Bernie Roitberg (roitberg@sfu.ca), or to the ESC office in an envelope marked "Confidential" postmarked no later than 28 February 2017.